Posted by: amazingbirthsandbeyond | September 8, 2010

Joanna’s HypnoBirth

The following is an email from one of our HypnoBirthing and Yoga Mamas.  Joanna is a remarkable woman, a physician herself, who was able to shift her thought patterns about birth and embrace the surprise arrival of her daughter Lila with grace and confidence.  This is why I LOVE HypnoBirthing! ~Lorie

“We believe that every woman has within her the power to call upon her natural instincts to bring about the best possible birthing for her baby and herself” ~Marie Mongan

Hi Lorie,

I hope that you are doing well.  I just had to share our story with you.  I’m not sure if you had heard but I hit a bump around week 33.  I got a urine infection, passed a kidney stone and had some contractions.  My cervix changed a little and Dr. Patel put me on bedrest. Hard for me, but definitely the best thing.  Everything stabilized and Patel continued to follow me closely.

I saw him Wednesday and everything looked good.  My cervix was again shorter, but normal NST, so the plan was more bed rest and to see him next week.  I left the office at 4.  I went home, emailed Bryan a grocery list and wrote on Facebook.  I was getting up to pee every hour, but was drinking so much it seemed normal.  At around 6:45 I felt nauseated and took a Tums.  I told Bryan my stomach was upset and I felt like I needed to have a BM.  That’s when things got really crazy.

Our daughter Lila was born around 7:18, at least that is when the 911 call went through.  The entire thing took about 20 minutes.  Bryan called 911 when I started to do everything instinctual that he saw in those birthing videos.  He looked at me and noticed the baby’s head.  He caught our daughter who was out in 1 minute.  He dried her with a towel and she cried and looked pink right away.  The cord had severed so he tied it with a shoelace.  We realized we were alone with our daughter who was only 34 weeks and 4 days.  Placenta came out while I was warming her on my chest.  Paramedics let me hold her and put her on my breast.  Amazingly, Lila is perfect, never needed oxygen and already weighed 5 lbs and 14 ounces.  She is doing great and so am I.

I just wanted to say thank you because I think yoga and hypnobirthing made me strong and capable and changed the way I think about labor.  We could not have made it through the experience had we not felt so prepared.  I am so glad there is a place like Amazing Births, please thank everyone there for me.

I will bring Lila Paige over when we are ready for Mom and Baby Yoga.

With love,
Joanna Drowos

Responses

  1. Wow, congratualtions! I am so glad you and your little girl are ok. Here I thought you would be hanging out during labor with bryan cracking jokes the enitre time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

